Review: The Murder Complex, Lindsay Cummings

June 18, 2014 Reviews 1 ★★½

Review: The Murder Complex, Lindsay CummingsThe Murder Complex by Lindsay Cummings
Series: The Murder Complex
Published by Greenwillow on June 2014
Genres: Dystopia, Horror, Young Adult
Pages: 400
Source: Edelweiss
Amazon • Amazon UK • Book Depository
Goodreads
two-half-stars

An action-packed, blood-soaked, futuristic debut thriller set in a world where the murder rate is higher than the birthrate. For fans of Moira Young’s Dust Lands series, La Femme Nikita, and the movie Hanna.

Meadow Woodson, a fifteen-year-old girl who has been trained by her father to fight, to kill, and to survive in any situation, lives with her family on a houseboat in Florida. The state is controlled by The Murder Complex, an organization that tracks the population with precision.

The plot starts to thicken when Meadow meets Zephyr James, who is—although he doesn’t know it—one of the MC’s programmed assassins. Is their meeting a coincidence? Destiny? Or part of a terrifying strategy? And will Zephyr keep Meadow from discovering the haunting truth about her family?

Action-packed, blood-soaked, and chilling, this is a dark and compelling debut novel by Lindsay Cummings

philippas_review

The Murder Complex is set in the future like most dystopians and boy is this one creepy screwed up world! In fact I don’t think a world has disturbed me quite so much since reading Neal Shusterman’s Unwind and that is saying something.  This story is centred around 2 characters – Meadow and Zephyr and each chapter is told from alternate points of view.

Meadow lives with her family on a house boat and has been trained from a young age to survive and to kill.  The story starts on the eve of her 16th birthday.  In this society your 16th birthday is your chance to catch a train to a testing centre for initiation and if you come out of the centre alive you leave with a job.  Meadows older brother Koi made it home but didn’t get a job, with him mysteriously saying he just “couldn’t go through with it”.  From this point on things just get more and more gruesome,  I found it a depressing world to  read about with dead bodies everywhere, dark hours where people are slaughtered and no one seems to do anything about it.  The very idea that 16 year olds have to kill in order to have a job and these kids don’t seem to flinch about it I found quite depressing.

The other main character Zephyr is a ward of the state, meaning his parents are dead and he’s effectively an orphan.  These guys are considered pretty much the lowest on the society totem pole and it’s their job to clean up dead bodies all day.  Yes that’s right, children have the role in this world to clean up the dead….   Zephyr has dreams about a silver haired girl (surprise surprise it’s Meadow) and fate has them come together shortly after Meadow starts working in the rations department.  After a series of events including Meadow discovering Zephyr is considered ultra important by the government, Zephyr trying to kill Meadow without any recollection of the event, and Meadows family disappearing, the 2 of them get together to try and solve the mystery of what is going on.

I think one of my biggest problems with this book is that I can’t imagine the sequence of events that lead up to this type of world actually happening.  Or perhaps I should say I can’t imagine enough people in power allowing it to get this way.  I also really struggled immensely with the storyline of Meadow’s mother.  Her whole character simply doesn’t add up in my book and after the big reveals towards the end instead of me getting really involved in the climax I was just thinking “are you for real??!”.

Meadows father I would also summarise as just a tad bit on the crazy side, and my guess is that Ms Cummings does not have children because I can’t imagine anyone other than sociopaths really being that involved and at the same  time that cold to their children.

The last thing I took issue with is that I guessed where things were going well before the end and it seemed so similar to a whole slate of YA novels, which was a bit disappointing to me.  The world while original had a “very same, old same old” climax and I think anyone that reads a fair bit of dystopia will be in the same boat where you can see how things are going to wrap up a mile off. The blood and gore in this book was also just a little too overdone leaving me pretty certain I won’t be picking up book two.

two-half-stars – Very gruesome and at times difficult to believe

Email | Goodreads | Amazon.com | Twitter | Instagram Philippa lives in Brisbane, Australia with her partner and two daughters. She is an avid reader and reviewer of Young Adult literature as well as being a student midwife, closet geek, procrastibaker and coffee addict.

One Response to “Review: The Murder Complex, Lindsay Cummings”

  1. Natasha

    Sounds awful! Think I will give this one a miss. Why do people have to murder each other to get a job?!? Good review.

Leave a Reply

CommentLuv badge

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.