A Million Times Goodnight by Kristina McBride

July 1, 2015 Reviews 0 ★★★½

A Million Times Goodnight by Kristina McBrideA Million Times Goodnight by Kristina McBride
Published by Egmont USA on 28 July 2015
Genres: Contemporary, Young Adult
Pages: 320
Source: Netgalley
Amazon • Amazon UK • Book Depository
Goodreads
three-half-stars

A teen Sliding Doors. One choice creates parallel dual narratives in this romantic contemporary mystery-thriller perfect for fans of Just Like Fate and Pivot Point.

One Night. Two Paths. Infinite Danger.

On the night of the big Spring Break party, Hadley "borrows" her boyfriend Ben's car without telling him. As payback, he posts a naked picture of her online for the entire senior class to see.

Now Hadley has a choice: go back to the party and force Ben to delete the picture or raise the stakes and take his beloved car on a road trip as far away from their hometown of Oak Grove, Ohio, as she can get.

Chapters alternate to reveal each possible future as Hadley, her ex-boyfriend, Josh, and her best friends embark on a night of reckless adventure where old feelings are rekindled, friendships are tested, and secrets are uncovered that are so much worse than a scandalous photo.

philippas_review

How much can change in a night when you make just one different decision? This is a question that people ask themselves every day and in A Million Times Goodnight, McBride explores two different alternate stories that split off after our protagonist, Hadley makes a decision whether or not to attend a party.

For anyone who has seen the movie Sliding Doors with Gwenyth Paltrow you are going to grasp the concept of this story pretty quickly.  For those that aren’t familiar with it, each chapter brings about the next part of the adventure that Hadley experiences alternating between her appearing at the party or deciding to drive off on a road trip.  Perhaps because I read this as an Uncorrected Proof copy, I found it quite difficult to tell when a new chapter began and which version of reality we were reading at times, especially in pivotal points where both stories collided.

What I loved about this story was how the same information came to light in completely different ways in both timelines, how in one version of events information was discovered at the beginning, while in the alternate it was found out much later on and it was interesting to see how the main character handled things each time.

I found this book a fast and easy read and while I didn’t particularly like Hadley, her friends or any of the main characters particularly it didn’t detract me from the story.  Some of the subject material that comes up within the book is quite full on and I found part of the reveal for the character of Ben especially interesting and terrifying.  I could easily imagine that there are similar things happening online right now its very scary stuff. My apologies for being a bit vague but I would hate to spoil a large portion of the story for anyone keen on reading this!

While there was some important and interesting topics brought up in this book, I still felt that this was perhaps not quite as deep or meaningful as it could have been. It simply delved the surface on issues such as suicide, social media abuse and date rape among others and I would have liked to have seen some of the ideas explored a little more. I worry that the gravity of these issues would perhaps be glossed over by your average teen as justified or perhaps normal in the context of this book.  For this reason I would recommend this one more as a great beach or summer fast read.

a million times goodnight

Taken From Instagram: A Million Times Goodnight, Donut Cupcakes & Tea!

Email | Goodreads | Amazon.com | Twitter | Instagram Philippa lives in Brisbane, Australia with her partner and two daughters. She is an avid reader and reviewer of Young Adult literature as well as being a student midwife, closet geek, procrastibaker and coffee addict.

Leave a Reply

CommentLuv badge

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.